February 26, 2024

Common Wealth Geography

Exploring the World

Controversy in 5th T20I as umpire’s call robs Australian players of potential boundary against India

Arshdeep Singh’s last over in India’s 5th T20I against Australia had a moment that stunned the visiting side. With nine runs needed off two deliveries, Nathan Ellis hit a delivery straight back at the nonstriker’s end. Despite being in his follow-through, Arshdeep deflected the ball with his right hand, but it hit the umpire on his right leg, allowing the batters to take just a single. Ellis believed he had enough bat behind the shot for a boundary, but the umpire’s evasive action prevented it. The moment ensured India clinched the game.

Arshdeep Singh had a tough day with the ball but showed incredible composure under pressure in the final over, conceding just three singles. India had already wrapped up the series 3-1 against Australia. The Men in Blue will now play T20Is and ODIs against South Africa, followed by a Test series with some big names returning to action.