April 24, 2024

Common Wealth Geography

Exploring the World

India Set to Clash with Rival Bangladesh in 2024 U19 World Cup Opener as ICC Unveils Schedule in South Africa

The 2024 ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup has been moved to South Africa from Sri Lanka. The tournament will commence on January 19 and will consist of 41 matches at five venues to determine the next U19 champion. India, a five-time winner, is the defending champion and will play against Bangladesh to kick off their campaign. Group A also includes Ireland and USA. Group B comprises England, South Africa, West Indies, and Scotland.

Australia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, and Namibia form Group C, while Group D includes Afghanistan, Pakistan, Nepal, and New Zealand. The top three teams from each group will advance to the next stage, with the top four teams competing in the semifinals in Benoni.

ICC Head of Events, Chris Tetley, expressed confidence in South Africa’s ability to host the event successfully, noting their success with previous cricket events. India, the runner-up in the previous U19 World Cup hosted in South Africa, is eager to defend their crown and secure a sixth title.